Share us: Follow us: China Phones Reviews Feed China Phones Reviews on TWITTER China Phones Reviews on FACEBOOK China Phones Reviews on DIGG

20 Comments so far »

  1. by nabeelmerchant, on November 21 2012 @ 6:23 pm

     

    I am listening to this while exercising. So boring to count with the same English numericals.

  2. by ThaDanishGuy, on November 21 2012 @ 7:19 pm

     

    Welcome to the rice field.

  3. by mufcsupporter1, on November 21 2012 @ 7:44 pm

     

    A CHING CHONG PING FUCKING RING

  4. by howtochinese, on November 21 2012 @ 7:51 pm

     

    After qian, the unit is wan, which is not taught in the video. So if you put together the numbers, the rule is: find out the unit first, then put the number before the unit, and read them in order. Like 22,500, firstly you find out the units in the order of bigger to smaller: wan,qian,bai. So it ‘s read èrwàn èrqiān wŭbăi. So it’s quite simple. It’s a good try. Happy weekends!
    ____Lucky

  5. by RockOn3906, on November 21 2012 @ 8:46 pm

     

    So then, my number (3906) in Chinese is:
    sān-qiān-jiŭ-băi-líng-liù

    …and is more correctly pronounced:
    sān-shí-jiŭ (39) líng-liù (0-6)

    Interesting! Now I can say I know how to count in Chinese. (Still can’t read it, though. 😛 Oh well–that’s a project for another day.)

    It does leave me one question, though: are bigger numbers (tens of thousands and up) simply one number followed by “qiān” and then another number?

    eg: 22,500 — is this “èr-shì-èr-qiān-wŭ-băi”, or something else entirely?

  6. by howtochinese, on November 21 2012 @ 9:17 pm

     

    Usually the book always try to make the readers to understand the things in a simple way. But unexpectedly, that mislead the reader. The pronounciation of z,c,s,zh,ch,sh is a big concern for many Chinese learners. Maybe you can learn more in my other videos about these pronunciations —–intensive mandarin Chinese review of zh, ch, sh,r….
    ________Lucky

  7. by gposhto, on November 21 2012 @ 9:45 pm

     

    This was a real eye-opener for me. Thank you. My mandarin pronunciation guide in the book I’m reading said that when i appears after z, c, s, zh, ch, and sh it sounds like r in ‘thunder’. That led me to pronounce the number four like the english word sir (or like the ‘cer’ in ‘dancer’). From your example I see now that my book is not correct.

    Thank you for your helpful video 🙂

  8. by howtochinese, on November 21 2012 @ 10:32 pm

     

    I am making a one year course and that will be out in a month or two. You can follow my course step by step a few times a week depending on your schedule. But listen to my videos and also prepare a book to learn now to build up the basic understanding of Chinese. I have How to Chinese Mandarin Chinese book available in Amazon. Maybe it’s a good choice.
    There is a Chinese proverb: Well begun half done.
    _____Lucky

  9. by clearfocus, on November 21 2012 @ 11:17 pm

     

    I will make sure to tune in. How can meet my goal of becoming a fluent Chinese speaker in one year? 

  10. by howtochinese, on November 22 2012 @ 12:11 am

     

    Thanks, New video is coming. Hope you like it.
    _____Lucky

  11. by clearfocus, on November 22 2012 @ 12:54 am

     

    Xie Xie! These videos are quite educational and I thank your for taking the time to assist us in becoming fluent Chinese speakers!

  12. by howtochinese, on November 22 2012 @ 1:37 am

     

    Thanks for your kind words. I hope my videos will help.
    ______Lucky

  13. by imjusthonest101, on November 22 2012 @ 2:26 am

     

    Very nice, clear explanations.

  14. by liyawei, on November 22 2012 @ 2:42 am

     

    tsi>>>>qi, 尖团合流让人蛋疼啊

  15. by howtochinese, on November 22 2012 @ 3:18 am

     

    Thanks for your kind words.
    Regards
    ____Lucky

  16. by Robegamers, on November 22 2012 @ 3:45 am

     

    I go to Kung-Fu and i need to learn 1-10 on Chinese and now i know 😀 mission completet

  17. by Pandaristiclol, on November 22 2012 @ 4:32 am

     

    These videos help me better than Rosetta stone. ^ 3^

  18. by Janam Gurung, on November 22 2012 @ 5:02 am

     

    u do good accent english i turn on LMAO 

  19. by TheSyljay, on November 22 2012 @ 5:04 am

     

    Thanks, Lucky!

  20. by castpast100, on November 22 2012 @ 5:40 am

     

    7,348 七千三百四十八 EASY

Comment RSS

Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.